I want him now... but you, forever.
Seriously, I don´t know how I am going to survive the year with your negative energy.

I miscalculated my time. I now have 15 minutes to kill.

Funny how I blog about CM life being monotonous... when I say the same thing about Manila life.

Even at 8 am my mom finds me online. I miss her.

I miss the Philippines.

the monotony of colegio mayor life
For those who don´t know it yet, one of the conditions of coming to Spain is living in a colegio mayor. A colegio mayor is basically an Opus Dei dorm.
What it´s like:
1. I have a curfew. 1030 on M-TH. 12 on F. 1 on Sat. 1130 on Sun. I know, the one am isn´t so bad but in Spain, people get ready at one am. Thus, at 1220, I´m leaving Piso Filipino walking to Yamaguchi while AD is pouring hard liquor into my one-liter cup. Because, he says, I only have half an hour to get drunk so I have to drink copious amounts of alcohol and get drunk fast. 1245, I´m walking quickly back to Goimendi (that´s the name of my dorm, btw)... struggling with the LONG path of stairs down to the dorms(the entire time cursing AD of course)... because fuck going down with heels is just too hard. 1255, I´m at the porteria trying my best to act sober as I say "setenta y nueve". 1am, barge into Alex´s room and work off my buzz.
2. I eat all my meals retreat style. Seriously, with napkins, different kinds of forks, and silent assistant numeraries. The only thing that sucks with it is: I cant be late for meals or I don´t eat. And during the weekends, if I want to eat in the dorm, I TELL THEM. Weekdays, if I don´t want to eat on the dorm I TELL THEM. Spain being Spain, planning isn´t anyone´s forte so I´m forever getting into trouble because I always end up eating or not eating in the dorm without telling them.
3. I can´t sleep in. Weekdays, kinda useless cause then I have to get up to go to class anyway. But on Saturdays, I have to be out of the room by 10 am because they clean the rooms. This ALWAYS leads me to getting kicked out of my room and ending up in Piso Filipino with my hair wet and laptop in hand.
4. I have to keep my room clean. Getting up and getting ready in the morning is always such a chore for me because I have to fix my bed and get ready... and I cant leave it a shithole because then the nums get mad.

What are the girls like?
1. Imagine the Gossip Girl of Spain. Really, these girls all look like they stepped out of the Zara catalogue... but their clothes are definitely not from Zara.
2. Some of these girls are the party girls of Barca or Madrid and they´re parents put them in colegio mayores thinking that they´d get discipline here.
3. If they´re not party girls, they study hardcore. UNAV is the number one school in Spain for communications, MEDICINE, and architecture. These girls bleed for their courses and they´re always constantly studying.
4. They´re very nice so they make me like living here.

Okay, the girls are nice and the curfew isn´t that bad... but it gets pretty boring. Take my Sunday for instance: sleep in(oh I can pala on Sundays), lunch, chat, mass, and then had coffee with AD. It gets pretty boring but I know that this is good for me because I usually am accustomed to no curfews, binge drinking, messy rooms, and the like. I know my experience here isn´t purely to learn Spanish. More than that, it is a learning experience... a way for me to get out of fucking Manila. Alex and I always say that in Manila, we´re someone or at least you seem like a someone. But in Spain, you´re no one. People call you Filipinas and they don´t know how rockstar our lives are back home and it´s good because it teaches us that hey, we´re not the center of the world. And if I continue my college career here, I probably won´t be living in a colegio mayor forever... I know living in a colegio mayor is good for me... and I could make my parents let me live in a piso next sem... but where´s the GOOD in that?

I remember when I got my wisdom tooth extracted, it fucking hurt like a bitch. I recall being unable to swallow my saliva because my tongue would touch the wound. It hurt like a bitch, I bitched like anything. I was telling complaining to GJ that I was fucking dying. And you know what he said? I'm sure it's going to be better tomorrow. And you know what, he was right. It was so much better the next day... I was even able to eat freakin peanuts. The point is: it has to get fucking hard till it gets better. Then you know, when shit happens, you'll get through it.

Someone told me that they think my life here in Spain is like Gossip Girl... Frankly, nowhere in the world does Gossip Girl exist. She thinks there's too much freedom and partying. Honestly, I've had more freedom back home. My life here in Spain is much like getting my wisdom tooth extracted. It started out hard. I was dying and so close to begging my parents to bring me home. I was alone, I didn't have any of my highschool friends with me nor did I have anyone from my family. The language barrier sucked. Well, it still does... but a little less each day. I still have to think long and hard to figure out mis preguntas para las personas de Goimendi o personas de hablante espanol. Sorry, I did that on purpose. And out of nowhere, I had all this responsibility. You know how back home it's like "here´s two thousand pesos, give me my license.". Now, I had to patiently wait for UNAV´s go signal so I can enroll. I had to pick my own insurance policy AND sign the credit card receipt. I book my own tickets to wherever. I balance my expenses. I have to learn how to get to places so I can come back to them. I have to be aware of the time when I go out cause I have to be back home in time... I have an interesting story about that.. but that´s for another blog entry.

I admit... I do drink more often here. I´m out more. I do so many different things. Thank God for that because I was getting tired of the same shit we did everyday back home. It´s completely monotone. GJ said that every day here is a FUCKING new day. No drama too. Thank you God.

It´s been hard but I can honestly say, it´s getting fucking better. Yesterday, four people in my dorm told me that my Spanish has improved. It made me incredibly happy. I know that it may crash soon... but I don´t care. I know it´s going to get better from there too.

I have to end here. I have to figure out the Spanish photocopying machine and make copies so I can apply for my tarjeta de residencia.


one track mind.